Packing Our Hospital Bag!

Open

I am 35 weeks pregnant, so it is time to prepare our hospital bags! By researching online and from what I remember about my first birth I have prepared this packing list.

Labor/Delivery Bag

  • Photo ID
  • My birth plan and copies of it
  • A prepackaged snack for the labor and delivery staff like a box of muffins or granola bars
  • Glasses and contact lenses
  • Delivery outfit: Sports or nursing bra, my new pink delivery dress
  • Socks and slippers in case I don’t want bare feet
  • Picture of me with my oldest daughter at her birth
  • Lip gloss and/or chap stick
  • Coconut water for hydration
  • Favorite snacks such as luna bars
  • Picture of birthing statue from Ina May’s book
  • My pillow
  • Money in cash or change
  • Camera and video camera
  • Gum or mints
  • Placenta bags and cooler
  • Headband and rubber bands

For Recovery/Postpartum Room

  • Cell Phones and chargers
  • Toiletries, toothbrush, toothpaste, deodorant, body wash, shampoo
  • Change of clothes
  • Nightgown or sweat pants and nursing tank top
  • Clothes to go home in, probably a sweat suit or maternity dress
  • Nursing bras
  • Gift for big sister
  • Picture of big sister
  • List of people to call
  • Nipple shields and nipple cream
  • Motrin or tylenol

For Baby

  • A going-home outfit
  • socks, under shirts, sleep gown
  • Burp cloths
  • Favorite receiving blanket that smells like home
  • Car Seat
  • Diaper bag with a few diapers and gentle wipes
One thought on “Packing Our Hospital Bag!

  1. How exciting! The one thing I didn’t pack, and wish I had, was my pillow which I see you have on there. I totally over packed, but it gave me comfort to know all that stuff was there just in case.

Leave a Reply

