Update to Previous Post Titled: My OB Discouraged Me from Bringing My Birth Plan to My Birth!

Lilith's Birth

Lilith’s Birth (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

My husband and I took a tour of Sutter Memorial Labor and Delivery last night and were relieved to find that the nurses are not superstitious about birth plans and indeed are warm and caring toward their patient’s wishes and needs.

 

Our tour guide and childbirth educator Rosie wanted to speak with us after the tour because of the thorough questions we were asking. It turned out that she was just as outraged, if not more so, at what the OBGYN had told me: That the nurses at Sutter Memorial were superstitious about birth plans and didn’t like them. She said it was horribleĀ  that this OB was giving the nurses there a bad reputation and that it was wrong of her to discourage birth plans which she believes are so important and necessary, and also the parent’s right.

 

I was so thankful to her and relieved that she cared about this as I did. You can read about my experience with the horrible OB in my December archive! If you plan on having a birth plan and agree that parents have the right to say how they want to birth, please like this page and comment here! Thanks!

 

4 thoughts on “Update to Previous Post Titled: My OB Discouraged Me from Bringing My Birth Plan to My Birth!

  1. I was also discouraged from bringing a birthplan by my OB (who is no longer, as I changed to someone else shortly after). His reasoning? Nothing ever goes according to plan, and he knows way better than me what is best for me and my baby.

  2. My friend’s OB told her not bring her birth plan to the hospital either! I was shocked when I found this out. I guess this may be a little more common than I thought.

Leave a Reply

