Questions for my Midwife

MEDICAL

I was given pitocin to stop from hemorrhaging after the placenta detached, this is one of my fears of having a home birth.

What labor emergency situations are you qualified to deal with?

What are you death rates? Include stillbirth before labor, stillbirths during labor, infant deaths, and maternal.

What are your permanent injury rates? Include moms and babies?

What are complications rates? How many women end up with an obstetrician? How many for pain, exhaustion and failure to progress, how many for medical complications?

Who is your backing doctor? Can I talk to her?

Have you ever dealt with a major bleed?

Have you ever inserted an IV after a major bleed has begun? What would you do in such an instance if you could not get it in?

If my baby needed a c-section to save her life how much longer would that take than if I had an obstetrician?

What is your background, training, and experience?

How many births have you attended as the primary caregiver since the completion of your training?

Do you have a limit on the number of births you attend per month?

What would happen if you had 2 births occur at once? Have you ever missed a birth?

Do you work with a partner or assistants?

What equipment do you normally use at births? How many times have you actually used them? What medications and equipment do you have for emergencies? What is your training in those?

Are you certified in CPR? What complications have you seen and handled? How would you handle complications such as hemorrhage, cord around the baby s neck, baby not breathing spontaneously?

Do you have adequate medical backup? Do you rely on a particular doctor or hospital? Can I choose my own physician?

What medical complications require transport to the hospital? Will you be able to continue labor support should I need to go to the hospital?

Do you do vaginal birth after cesarean at home? If so, what is your outcome ratio? What are the risks of doing so?

Have you delivered breech babies? Would you deliver a known breech baby at home?

BIRTH

What will you do to help me manage my pain and contractions?

How many people can I have with me at the birth?

Can I have my doula there?

FINANCIAL

How does Medi Cal work, how are they billed, what do I need to do to set it all up?

What payment plans can you offer?

What is your fee and what services does it include? Which fees are separate (ask about prenatal care, lab work, newborn assessment, breastfeeding support, postpartum care, and birth control counseling)? What about payment plans?

Do you accept reimbursements from insurance companies? Which ones?

What other costs might I encounter? (Note: In the case of transport to the hospital, physician and hospital fees will ordinarily be additional.)

BABY CARE AFTER DELIVERY

How do I do birth certificate info and SS# for my baby?

I remember the baby having a lot of interruptions and blood drawn while we were in the hospital, what was all this for?

Does my baby need shots at birth?

POSTPARTUM

Do you provide postpartum visits in the early days after birth? How many? How long do you provide postpartum care?

I have history of PPD, can this effect my care afterward?

PRENATAL CARE

6 – How long does the average prenatal visit last during my pregnancy?

7 – How often will you want to see me during each trimester of pregnancy?

8 – What are your recommendations for pregnancy and childbirth preparation classes?

9 – Are you able to provide any necessary prenatal lab work? What prenatal tests do you require? Recommend?

10 – What does a typical prenatal checkup consist of? Will I see you each at each prenatal visit or another midwife?

OTHER

My husband says we are too messy and not as clean as the hospital to have a home birth.

Have you ever delivered in an Apartment complex?

He is afraid of birthing at home and not having medical necessary interventions available if needed.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Questions for my Midwife

  1. Such great questions. I may have to still pull from your list And get clarification from my midwives! Eeps @ 38 weeks.

    Also, we live in a 1-bedroom apartment so I too was worried about that, for whatever reason? Mine assured me that they do it all the time 🙂

    • Yes my midwife said they also birth in apartments all the time! Unfortunately it looks like we will be birthing in a hospital though, I am really hoping any birth after this one will be a home birth.

Leave a Reply

