How can I wean my toddler from breastfeeding? | BabyCenter

Hahaha! This one really made me laugh!

My daughter is 32 months old. I have been dreading weaning for the past year. My daughter just loved nursing and she was so determined that I didn’t have the heart to not let her nurse. Whenever I tried to deny her, she would break down and fall apart. I just couldn’t stand it. I have read virtually every book on weaning and nothing seemed to work. Finally, I decided that rather than just denying her, I would try to apply “fish oil” to my breasts. I take it as a supplement so I know it won’t hurt her or burn her mouth (it just smells really nasty!) I just poked a hole in the end of the capsule and rubbed a small amount on each breast while she wasn’t looking. When she wanted to nurse, she said “Mommy, it smells stinky” and she just pulled my shirt back down. That was over a week ago and although she has asked to nurse a few more times, I don’t have to refuse her, I just go to the restroom first, apply a little fish oil and she decides herself she doesn’t want it. She hasn’t even cried!

posted 11/11/2008 by a BabyCenter Member

via How can I wean my toddler from breastfeeding? | BabyCenter.

Leave a Reply

