How can I wean my toddler from breastfeeding? | BabyCenter

I would like to preface my story by saying that I was totally commited to child-led weaning and that my daughter LOVED to bf!.I had struggled through a pregnancy with very low supply and the requisite agitation and pain and have continued,stubbornly to tandem feed my 28 mth old for the last 8 months in the belief that this was the best thing for Grace despite my building resentment.After a particularly bad day last week, I finally had to admit I had reached my limit – truth be told I had reached it some time ago,but I am stubborn and idealistic.After reading this forum,I realised that explaining to her that she was a big girl and didn’t need it anymore was not only beyond her comprehension,but dishonest in that I was implying she should be ready,when it is clearly ME who wants to stop.I decided to go with the lemon juice(yes!Lie to my child!)In fact,it has been a gentle way to empower her with choice.We weaned in a day!I wish you luck on this beautiful, private journey with your child.

posted 01/30/2010 by graceandroman

via How can I wean my toddler from breastfeeding? | BabyCenter.

Leave a Reply

